Edinburgh Southern Orienteering Club


ESOA Championships 2017 & SoSOL7

Riccarton, 19 November

The Riccarton campus of Heriot-Watt University is on the west side of Edinburgh, and has a variety of terrain; complex modern buildings set in parkland and woodland, with a lake and other water features. Registration was in the impressive new Oriam building, with the start and finish nearby. The courses led around the campus, with double-sided maps for the longer courses. As usual in urban events, quick decision-making was vital in choosing the best routes around the buildings, uncrossable fences and the loch. It was a fine day, though chilly, and underfoot conditions were mostly good.

ESOC members in the top half of the results were:
  Brown (26 competitors) – Martin Quirke 8th, Jonathan Ellis 10th, Walter Clark 13th  
  Blue (52) – Laura Robertson 1st, Ben Brown 3rd, Alistair Hindle 5th, Jim Martin 8th, Martin Caldwell 14th, Rona Lindsay 15th, David McPhillips 17th, Crawford Lindsay 18th, Peter O-Hara 22nd, Gill Martin 24th, Mike Stewart 25th, Tim Westmoreland 26th
  Green (53) – Alison Cunningham 2nd, Roger Scrutton 10th, Judy Bell 14th, Ewart Scott 18th, Les Dalgleish 19th, Ian Pyrah 20th, Alastair Lessells 22nd, Hanne Robertson 25th, Jeni Rowe 26th, Jim Morrison 27th
  Short Green (22) – Margaret Dalgleish 1st, Eleanor Pyrah 3rd, Fiona Findlay 8th, Katy Lessells 9th, Anne Thom 10th
  Light Green (9) – Jamie Lawlor 1st
  Orange (8) – Maja Robertson 2nd, Joseph Lawlor 3rd  
  Yellow (11) – Megan Brown 5th
  White (13) – Aisling Stuart 1st, Zoe Clark 3rd, Tim Rose 4th, Sibhe Fahey 5th, Sam Mackenzie 7th

Full results, including Routegadget, are available here.

Further details about the South of Scotland Orienteering League, including the final league tables, are on the SoSOL page of the East of Scotland Orienteering Association website.

Congratulations to all the ESOC trophy winners in the 2017 East of Scotland Championships:
Maja Robertson (W12), Jamie Lawlor (M14), Ben Brown (M16), Laura Robertson (W21), Gill Martin (W35), Jonathan Ellis (M35), Alison Cunningham (W50), Martin Caldwell (M60), Margaret Dalgleish (W65), Ewart Scott (M65), Eleanor Pyrah (W70), Roger Scrutton (M70), Janet Clark (W75)

This event was also the ESOC Club Championships individual event. See this news item for a list of prize-winners.


Image Gallery

Click the image for a larger version.