Edinburgh Southern Orienteering Club

Tinto Twin - Altarstone, 29/30 October 2011

ESOC members won a selection of trophies at the 24th Tinto Twin competition, held near Broughton, in the Borders.

The Tinto Twin is an annual 2-day competition, with a night event on Saturday, followed by a day event on Sunday, and the combined results determine the overall winners. This year, both events were at Altarstone, near Broughton, a mature coniferous forest on a hill, plus the adjoining moorland. Part of the forest had been very recently felled, so that courses had had to be replanned, and as a result some legs went through a difficult rough area, but most of the forest was much more pleasant, though there were some steep slopes.

There had been some heavy showers earlier in the day, but luckily the weather stayed dry for the night event, and it was quite mild, though breezy on the open hill. Everyone enjoyed soup and rolls afterwards, while comparing route choices and pondering the results.

ESOC members in the top half of the results at the night event were:
Brown (7 competitors) – Andrew Lindsay 1st
Blue (22) – Rona Lindsay 4th, Crawford Lindsay 9th
Short Blue (13) – Ian Pyrah 7th
Green (17) – Sally Lindsay 7th
Short Green (6) – Eleanor Pyrah 1st, Jim Clark 2nd, Janet Clark 3rd

The day event was also part of the Junior Inter-Area competition, and had a larger entry. The start was up the hill by the quarry, with glorious views of the autumn colours in the surrounding countryside. It was a sunny day and again very mild.

ESOC members in the top half of the results for the day event were:
Brown (14 competitors) – Andrew Dalgleish 5th, Andrew Lindsay 6th
Blue (43) – Craig Nolan 1st, Rona Lindsay 4th, Crawford Lindsay 11th
Short Blue (22) – Jonathan Ellis 1st, Alastair Lessells 7th, Martin Caldwell 11th
Green (28) – Margaret Dalgleish 14th
Short Green (18) – Jim Clark 2nd, Eleanor Pyrah 7th, Janet Clark 9th
Yellow (13) – Kerry Wood 6th, Ben Brown 7th

Congratulations to all the ESOC trophy winners in the overall Tinto Twin competition:
Andrew Lindsay (M18), Crawford Lindsay (M55), Ian Pyrah (M65), Jim Clark (M70), Rona Lindsay (W18), Anne Stevenson (W60), Eleanor Pyrah (W65), Janet Clark (W70)

Full results are available via the SOA website, and some photos are now in the ESOC Gallery.