Edinburgh Southern Orienteering Club

Tinto Twin & SOL7 - Beecraigs &Witch Craig Wood - 31 October / 1 November 2009

A weekend of contrasting conditions saw several ESOC members among the winners at the 22nd Tinto Twin competition.

This 2-day competition is held annually, with a night event on a Saturday, followed by a day event on the Sunday. The combined results determine the overall winners. This year, the day event was also the final Scottish Orienteering League event for the season.

The night event was at Beecraigs, near Linlithgow, on Saturday 31 October. It was a fine night, with a full moon, and quite mild. Underfoot conditions were very muddy and the complex path network provided a challenge for many. Plenty of route comparison and other discussions took place afterwards over soup and rolls.

ESOC members in the top half of the results for their course were:
Course 1 (11 finishers) – Andrew Dalgleish 4th
Course 3 (27) – Roger Scrutton 7th, Bill Stevenson 14th
Course 4 (21) – Andrew Lindsay 2nd, Margaret Dalgleish 4th, Helena Nolan 6th, Sally Lindsay 9th
Course 5 (8) – Rona Lindsay 1st, Janet Clark 4th
Course 6 (9) – Craig Nolan 1st

The day event was mainly in the adjoining area of Witch Craig Wood, and most courses had a long leg leading back into Beecraigs for the last few controls. It was very wet, with rain falling relentlessly throughout the day, and everyone was soaked to the skin. Witch Craig Wood is a new area with mixed woodland, much of it very young, and some open moorland, which should have good views on a clear day!

ESOC members in the top half of the results were:
Blue (49 finishers) – Andrew Lindsay 1st
Short blue (46) – Keith Brown 5th, Alison Cunningham 7th, Mary Williams 22nd
Green (51) – Rona Lindsay 3rd, Margaret Dalgleish 8th
Short Green (16) – Janet Clark 6th
Light Green (27) – Craig Nolan 2nd, Adam Hunter 8th, Jack Conway 11th, Jamie Cunningham 12th
White (14) – Ben Brown 3rd, Rachel Brown 4th, Kerry Wood 7th

Congratulations to all the ESOC winners in the overall Tinto Twin competition:
Craig Nolan (M14), Andrew Lindsay (M16), Jim Clark (M70), Rona Lindsay (W16), Margaret Dalgleish (W55), Janet Clark (W65)
The prizegiving was postponed due to the wet conditions.

Full results and Routegadget are available on the Tinto Twin Results page.