Edinburgh Southern Orienteering Club

Events Calendar

Explanation of Event levels, types and formats

Local events are usually low key and in the 'localised' area, ideal for newcomers to try the sport and Training events are non competitive and used for training and coaching, aimed at members of the club, but they can attract people from neighbouring clubs, and are often ideal for newcomers to try the sport. Regional events attract participants from around the local Region, National events are high quality competitions that will attract people from far away, Major events are Major Events such as a British Championships. Virtual events are where there are no physical controls being used. Your presence at a control is registered using an App on your mobile phone, normally the free MapRun App.

Read more about events…

Date Venue (select to view) Near Level
Wed 19 Jun Astley Ainslie, Sprintelope Edinburgh Local
Sat 22 Jun Davidson’s Mains Park and Royal High School, Local Event Edinburgh Local
Wed 17 Jul Pollock Halls and Newington, Sprintelope Edinburgh Local
Sat 20 Jul Figgate Park, Local event Portobello Local

Nearby clubs' events

Forthcoming fixtures can also be viewed via Ollie O'Brien's UK Orienteering Fixtures Map (here centred on EH1, Edinburgh).

Note. Links below will open the event details that are on the British Orienteering website in a new tab or window.

Date Event name (select to view) Club Near Level
Wed 19 Jun Duncraggan Wednesday Evening Event - Duncraggan & Little Druim Woods FVO Brig o'Turk Local
Sun 23 Jun Minewoods Local Event - Mine Woods FVO Bridge of Allan Local
Wed 26 Jun ELO Sprintelope - Prestonpans - Prestonpans ELO Prestonpans Local
Wed 26 Jun STAG Spring 6 - Drumpellier CP STAG Glasgow Local
Sat 29 Jun WOC Test Race #1 - Sprint - Wester Hailes EUOC Edinburgh Regional
Sat 29 Jun ELO Local Events in Edinburgh and the Lothians - Whitekirk Hill ELO East Linton Local
Sat 29 Jun KFO Orienteering in Fife - Pittencrieff Park KFO Dunfermline Local
Sun 30 Jun WOC Test Race #2 - KOS - King's Buildings EUOC Edinburgh Regional
Wed 3 Jul Interlopers Sprintelope 13 (Edinburgh) - Bioquarter INT Edinburgh Local
Thu 11 Jul WOC2024 Tour - warm up (and SoSOL) - Holyrood Park RR Edinburgh Regional
Fri 12 Jul WOC2024 Tour - Urban sprint - Leith RR Edinburgh Regional
Sat 13 Jul WOC2024 Tour - Indoor race - King's Buildings Campus RR Edinburgh Regional
Sun 14 Jul WOC2024 Tour - Middle Distance (SOUL 5) - Heriot-Watt Riccarton RR Edinburgh Regional
Mon 15 Jul WOC2024 Tour - Urban Historic Edinburgh UKUL - Central Edinburgh RR Edinburgh Regional
Tue 16 Jul WOC2024 Tour - Urban sprint - Wester Hailes RR Edinburgh Regional

Edinburgh University OC website

Interløpers website

East Lothian Orienteers website

Roxburgh Reivers OC website

Kingdom of Fife Orienteers website

St. Andrew’s OC website

Forth Valley Orienteers website